RTA News Release

RTA Breaks Ground on Transit Hubs

Community representatives and public officials joined the RTA board and staff on September 25 and 26 to break ground on the Southern Montgomery County and Eastown Hub sites, respectively.
RTA Board President Jim Payne and RTA Executive Director Minnie Fells Johnson, Ph.D. hosted the events which celebrated the RTA's most recent investment in the region's future. "Maximized RTA service efficiency, enhanced rider comfort and security, and the promotion of economic development are among the many benefits of this latest RTA venture," said Payne.
Ohio Department of Transportation Deputy Director Carla Cefaratti echoed Payne's comments at the southern hub groundbreaking and praised the RTA's progressive efforts to match service with the changing needs of transit riders.
Ohio State Senator Rhine McLin and Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce President Phil Parker were among the many speakers to acknowledge the importance of such developments to the economic health of the region.
Following the groundbreakings, the RTA distributed commemorative bus banks which symbolize the Authority's investment in the region's future.
Four additional hubs will be strategically located in the Western, Northeastern, and Northwestern corridors as well as in downtown Dayton. The hub network will offer the community many benefits including passenger amenities, intermodal connections, and improved regional connections to local, cross-town, express and feeder transit services.
The RTA and Dayton and Montgomery County Public Library are sharing the use and development of the Southern Montgomery County Hub site through the Miami Township Joint Development Project. The library will build its Miami Township branch at the site.


E-mail for information